Wait We Will

Standard

I should be on the plane headed for home, as we speak, but instead, I am here in my room, writing this unfortunate tale. I got the tough, but sort of expected news this morning, that my plans to depart today had been squashed, by one dude who did not sign one sheet of paper. No exit letter = No leaving the country with my new baby boy. So, after another $250 change fee to move my flight, and a journey in the exhaust-filled taxi that lasted 5 ½ hours and cost $65, I returned to the guest house for more days of fun in the hot Congo sun. 🙂 Hope you can sense my sarcasm.

Really though, I am fine. And Dylan is fine…much better today than yesterday when I gave him the news that this may not be happening. I don’t think it was so much the fact that I would not be returning as planned, but the reason that it wasn’t going to happen.

Life in Congo is not like life in the States, of course, everyone knows that. But things that are just the norm for us, like taking care of your responsibilities and there being consequences for not taking care of them, aren’t the same here. I won’t go into detail about why I did not get my exit letter because, #1 it would floor you, and #2, I’m not sure that punking out an official of the country I am trying to get of, is such a good idea. I will say that my letter has been ready and waiting to be approved for DAYS now, and just needs one little tiny signature that isn’t getting scribbled in. It is beyond frustrating.

Aside from all that silly business, me and the little guy are doing great. I took him back to the doctor today and got a good report. His lungs were clear, and he has been fever free for over a week now. The cough and spitting up continue, but I think getting him out of the smog- filled air and to a good Children’s Hospital, (I think I know of one ;)), seem to be the answer to that. So, we wait. Wait to get home, to get to the doctor, to unite this little guy with his new family and friends. We wait.

But I’ll be spending the next few days soaking up all of these moments alone with my precious baby boy.

And anticipating the reunion… with the bestest of hubs (and daddys), and my lovely, quirky, ridiculously snuggly, hilariously unpredictable, one of a kind, Mila Mae. The ache of the absence of these two is getting fierce.

8 responses »

  1. Oh the waiting makes the anticipation and reunion that much sweeter! We will praying for that signature soon and look forward to seeing all of you guys together as a family very soon!

  2. Carrie, I’m so sorry for the delay…..must be agonizing!! He is beyond precious and we cannot wait to see him and cuddle him 🙂 Love you and missing you a lot. Praying, praying and praying some more!!

  3. Praying every day!!! Can’t wait to hear the good report that you are coming home! Hudson is ABSOLUTELY adorable! I could just eat him up! I know Mila is going to LOVE being a big sis!!! Hugs to you!

  4. Our family has been in prayer for awhile about adoption and we feel God has called us to say Yes! As we start this journey we are trying to get as much information as possible about adopting from the DRC. We would love to hear what agency you used/ or recommendations, so we can figure out which would be the best for us.
    Thank you and God Bless your amazing family
    The Meier’s
    Rbcm19@aim.com

Leave a Reply

