Man, It’s Good to be Home

Standard

I’ve gotten to sleep in my own bed, with my own pillow, with my whole family, all 5 of us for the past 2 nights. Mila is getting adjusted to Jack and Annie. At the beginning of the day yesterday, I was having to carry her around the house because she was scared of being on the ground with them. But by the end of the night, she was playing on the floor on her own, with  both dogs frolicking about. Jackson just walks around kind of ignoring her, which is totally what we expected. Annie, however is crazy about her, which is a complete shock. I have never seen Annabelle treat a child like this. She is so intrigued by her presence, won’t stop licking her all over, and hardly barks at her at all. For anyone who has ever been around Annabelle, especially anyone with children in tow, you know this is not the norm. It’s like she knew Mila was here to stay, like it or not. I’m thinking she actually likes it. This morning, I woke to Anna nuzzled up to Mila in the bed. It warmed my heart. My two little girls getting along and all of us snuggling. It was so nice. I am not sure if Anna is in love, jealous or just trying to keep her enemies closer, but whatever it is, I’m not complaining…

Mila’s first day in America was a busy one. My first doctor’s appointment led directly to a second doctor’s appointment with a plastic surgeon. This doc wants to see how things progress this week with 3x/day wound care. He will decide Friday if it will need to be closed surgically, or if the wound will be able to heal on it’s own. Either way, this will be one of those battle scars with a big story behind it. In case anyone is wondering, it feels so much better. :O) I’ve lost my limp, and I actually laid on my left side for the first time this morning while I was trying to go back to sleep at 2:3o. Unfortunately, it did not help, and I’ve been up unpacking, washing clothes and trying to catch up on emails, etc. ever since. I’m fading fast now.

Mila is such a trooper. I cannot explain the absolute blessing of how she dealt with the flight.  Nothing seems to phase her. 24+ hours of flying, long lines in airports and customs, a carseat for the first time in her life, a new home in a new country, and a whole bunch of new people. It never ceases to amaze me how she handles it all. She cried once. Yes, I said once during all 5 flights, and it was when I went to the restroom and she could not see me. There were some serious prayers going up for that flight because it was just not normal how well she did. She fell asleep for every single flight as we taxied down the runway. All 5 times we took off. We were super spoiled on the long legs of the flight home. Not only were we able to have both me and Dylan to make the flights easier, but the only seats available on the flights that would get us home in time for Dylan’s meeting Monday, were in business class. For those of you who are not familiar, me included until Saturday, Business Class is the only way to fly halfway around the world with a toddler. We had no idea what we were getting into. It was AWESOME!!! Thanks to the Fanning Clan for scheduling our flights and for all those who helped financially. We are eternally grateful to all of our friends and family for their generosity. Take a gander at these photos to get an idea of what we were working with. Five course meals, hot towels for our faces, fully reclining chairs, and so much more. We were in hog heaven.

            

(Yes, that’s Mila in the little basket.)

And then if an awesome flight wasn’t enough, God blessed me with some of the crazy coolest skies I’ve ever seen. Pictures don’t do it justice.

My incredibly talented photog friend Allison posted something really sweet on her photography blog today. Check out some awesome shots of our homecoming and a quick story of the beginning of some very dear friendships@ Allison Lewis Photography. Thanks Allsion.

4 responses »

    • Thanks for checking in Barbara. Sorry it took me a while to respond. Life just got real hectic. You are so sweet. We are so, so, so happy she is ours, we are home, and life is getting back to our new normal.

  1. Oh, it’s so good to have you home. Have had to sit on my hands to keep from texting the last two days, just in case you were sleeping. Can’t wait to see you tonight! Glad she’s doing so well (and that Annabelle is, too!)

  2. Pingback: Happily Home « Waiting For Mila

Leave a Reply

